Tea Time

I hope everyone had a nice weekend! I spent the weekend with my family over on the Eastern Shore to celebrate Mother’s Day. Saturday was a little rainy, so we killed time by looking at antiques, sifting through thrift shops, and putting together a good old-fashioned puzzle. We went over to enjoy some live Canadian folk music performed by Le Vent du Nord at The Mainstay in Rock Hall, and I was pleasantly surprised with the band’s music.

On Sunday, we celebrated Mother’s Day with a tea party, complete with all sorts of dainty finger foods. I decorated the cookies that I had made earlier in the week to fit the theme of Mother’s Day Tea.

To decorate the cookies, I followed this royal icing recipe, which used meringue powder instead of egg whites. Following the recipe exactly yielded icing that worked well for piping the edges of the cookies.

First, I piped the edges of each cookie in order to create the barrier for flooding the centers of each cookie with icing of a thinner consistency. I made the white icing first to decorate the circular cookies and then whipped up a batch of pink icing to decorate the others.

To make the icing for flooding the cookies, I simply added water to the icing a tablespoon at a time to thin it out. After doing some research, there doesn’t really seem to be a standard for how much water to add. Basically, once you’ve added enough water to the icing for it to run fluidly from the mixing spoon back into the bowl, it is ready to go. If the icing gets too thin, you can always add more powdered sugar to thicken it back up. It helps to let the icing sit for a few minutes after mixing to let some of the air bubbles come to the surface. You can also pop any air bubbles that appear after each cookie is frosted using a toothpick.

IMG_6702

Thinned-out icing for flooding, notice the bubbles from mixing.

I’ve found that the easiest method for me to flood the cookies is to just use my mixing spoon to drip some icing on to the center of each cookie and then gently spread it around with either the tip of the spoon (or a toothpick for narrower areas, depending on the shape of the cookie).

For the circular cookies, I was inspired by this Pinterest pin, and decorated the cookies with bouquets of pink flowers and a dotted border.

IMG_6754

For the pink cookies, I wanted to practice some lettering, so I piped “M”s (for Mom, of course) in pink. Once the letters had dried, I mixed up some of Wilton’s gold pearl dust with vanilla extract and painted this over the letters to give them a golden sheen.

IMG_6805

The finished cookies.

My sister helped me prepare some tea sandwiches, and I also made some colorful macaroons for the occasion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are some links to the recipes (from Pinterest) that I followed for the sandwiches and macaroons:

I highly recommend any of the recipes listed above–if you try them out let me know what you think! I’d love to hear from you in the comments, below.

Thanks for reading!

 

6 thoughts on “Tea Time

  1. Fran Davis says:

    Very professional and beautiful! Would love to see pics of the finger sandwiches. I will check out the Italian chicken salad. Was there a special tea you served?

    Like

Leave a Reply

