Snorlax Amigurumi

I feel like its easier to find motivation for knit/crochet projects in the winter, when snuggled up inside with a nice hot beverage. I haven’t started any exciting projects recently, so I’ll be posting about some of the neat projects I have worked on in the past year or two.

Featured in this post is an amigurumi creation, for which I followed this pattern from Pinterest. Amigurumi is the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting stuffed toys. If you grew up in the 90s, chances are that Pokémon are near and dear to your heart. My younger brother was a true PokéMaster. Pokémon was a huge part of his life growing up, and so when I found this pattern on Pinterest, I decided to make him a crocheted Snorlax for Christmas.

IMG_6580

It took about a month or so, crocheting after work and on the weekends, for me to finish Snorlax. Following the pattern, you crochet everything piece-wise, stuff the pieces with poly-fil fiber and then sew everything together. I dug up some old photos (please excuse the rudimentary quality!) from when I was in the process of making Snorlax:

Once I had finished assembling all the pieces, I was bothered that the seam between the cream portion of his face didn’t align exactly with the topmost portion of his cream belly. So, I improvised and decided to add a little red bow-tie to lessen the harshness of the seam. The eyes and mouth are cut from black and white felt, and adhered with a fabric glue into place.

IMG_8212

All done!

I have to say, I was not expecting the final product to be quite so large! My brother really enjoyed his gift, and I had a lot of fun making it. This was my first amigurumi project, and while I did have some trouble following the pattern exactly, I found in the end that any mistakes could be hidden easily when stuffing and sewing together all the pieces.

I definitely recommend this pattern if you are looking to make a gift for anyone who loves Pokémon. If you try the pattern or have any questions, comments, or thoughts, I’d love to hear from you in the comments below!

IMG_8256

Wrapped in a decorative trash-sized plastic bag, because it was too big for a gift bag!

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Snorlax Amigurumi

  1. Auntie Fran says:

    Amigurumi! Oh I remember Pokémon. This is so adorable. Does look like a lot of work thu but worth it as always. I have knitted small teddy bears as one piece, then flipped together and sewn. Once I used large needles and fat chenille yarn, increased the stitches and made a large teddy bear then made a pink tutu! Wish I had known I was doing amigurumi it just sound cooler 😉 oh and loving the Bobby pin. Oh but maybe if there is no assembling of parts it’s just knitting. But still fun and creative.

    Like

      • Fran Davis says:

        Latest big news to bake with seems to be duck eggs! Lighter goodies and since larger whites more protein. Might just be fun to try and tell us what you think🙃

        Like

  2. Douglas Hambrigh says:

    Very neat that you were able to blog about this. One I didn’t know it had a special Japanese name for what you were doing and two, cool that you had enough insight to document your progress long before ever considering a blog. Well done!

    Sent from my iPad >¸`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.>¸.·´¯`·.¸. > >

    >

    Like

  3. Diane hambright (Gmother) says:

    I love that it is so big. I bet Colin did too. The size makes it different and much more “snuggleble” for sure.

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    You continue to amaze me with these creative projects you tackle. They inspire me to want to try something so challenging and unusual but cool. Looks like AMIGURUMI makes a-great gift and one rhat your brother will always remember. Thanks for taking the time to tell us all about this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

